For more hospital ratings, visit

The Leapfrog Group Board

The Leapfrog Group Board meets four times a year and is made up of representatives from member organizations and other key thought leaders.

Board Members

Laurel Pickering, MPH (Chair)
President & CEO
Northeast Business Group on Health

William H. Finck, MBA, CPA (Immediate Past Chair)
Former Director of Network Initiatives (retired)
Horizon Blue Cross Blue Shield of New Jersey

Cristie Travis (Vice Chair)
Memphis Business Group on Health

Elizabeth Casteel (Secretary)
Staff VP, Human Resources & Chief Diversity Officer
FedEx Corporation

Marsha Manning (Treasurer)
Manager, Medical Benefits
University of Michigan

Bill Bonk (Chair, Governance Committee)
Director, Global Benefits

Ford Brewer
Chief Medical Officer
Comprehensive Health Services

Irene Fraser, PhD

David Goldhill
President & CEO

Martin J. Hatlie, JD
Partnership for Patient Safety

Frank Johnson (Chair, Hospital Safety Score Committee)
Director of System and Payment Reform
Maine Health Management Coalition

David Hopkins
Senior Advisor
Pacific Business Group on Health and Consultant to the Consumer-Purchaser Alliance

Michelle Martin
Director, Human Resources and Specialty Services
CBS Corporation

Susan C. Reinhard, RN, PhD, FAAN
Senior Vice President and Director
AARP Public Policy Institute
Chief Strategist, Center to Champion Nursing in America

Maureen Ryan
Client Partner
Korn/Ferry International

Linda Schwimmer
Vice President
New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute


Ex Officio

Leah Binder
President and CEO
The Leapfrog Group

Liaisons to the Board

Dan Roble
Ropes & Gray

Jack Smith, CAPT, MC, USN
Principal Director, Clinical and Program Policy
U.S. Department of Defense

William Kassler
Chief Medical Officer, New England Region
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

John Cutler, ESQ.
Senior Policy Analyst
Office of Personnel Management