Expert Panelists

Under the guidance of the nation’s leading quality and patient safety experts, Leapfrog continually advances its two hospital ratings programs: the Leapfrog Hospital Survey and the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade. The measures included in these initiatives are predicated on the latest science and harmonized with other national reporting entities.
Leapfrog could not do its work without the dedication of its passionate, volunteer Expert Panelists. We thank them for their work in ensuring that Leapfrog remains the leading independent voice for health care transparency.

Leapfrog Expert Panelists

Computerized Physician Order Entry Expert Panel

David W. Bates, MD, MSc, Senior Vice President and Chief Innovation Officer for Brigham and Women's Hospital
David C. Classen, MD, MS, CMIO, Pascal Metrics; Associate Professor of Medicine, The University of Utah

Maternity Care Expert Panel

Jennifer Bailit, MD, MPH, Executive Director, Women and Children Patient Care Unit, MetroHealth Medical Center
Debra Bingham, DrPH, RN, FAAN, Executive Director, Institute for Perinatal Quality Improvement; Associate Professor, University of Maryland
Jeffrey Ecker, MD, Chief, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Massachusetts General Hospital
Kimberly D. Gregory, MD, MPH, Director, Division of Maternal Fetal Medicine, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center 
Holly Kennedy, PhD, CNM, FACNM, FAAN, Executive Deputy Dean & Helen Varney Professor of Midwifery, Yale School of Nursing
Elliott K. Main, MD, Medical Director, California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative; Clinical Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at UCSF and Stanford University
Ann E. Watt, MBA, RHIA, Associate Director, Center for Performance Measurement, Division of Quality Healthcare Evaluation, The Joint Commission 

Bar Code Medication Administration Expert Panel

Anne Bane, RN, MSN, Manager, Clinical Systems Innovations, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Jane Dee Englebright, PhD, RN, CENP, FAAN, Chief Nursing Executive, Patient Safety Officer & Vice President for Clinical Services Group, HCA, Inc.
Valerie J. Gooder, PhD, RN, Professor, Weber State University School of Nursing
Christina Michalek, BSc Pharm, RPh, FASHP, Medication Safety Specialist, Institute for Safe Medication Practices
Marisa L. Wilson, DNSc, MHSc, RN-BC, CPHIMS, FAAN, Associate Professor and Specialty Track Chair MSN Nursing Informatics and CORE DNP Faculty, The University of Alabama at Birmingham - School of Nursing

Culture of Safety Expert Panel

Sara Singer, MBA, PhD, Professor of Health Care Management and Policy, Department of Health Policy and Management, Harvard School of Public Health 
Eric J. Thomas, MD, MPH, Director of the UT Houston-Memorial Hermann Center for Healthcare Quality and Safety, Professor of Medicine at the University of Texas Houston Medical School
Timothy J. Vogus, PhD, Associate Professor of Management, Owen Graduate School of Management, Vanderbilt University

ICU Physician Staffing Expert Panel

Thomas Bleck, MD, FCCM, Professor of Neurological Sciences, Neurosurgery, Medicine, and Anesthesiology, Rush Medical College 
Meeta Prasad Kerlin, MD, MSCE, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania 
Craig Lilly, MD, FCCM, Vice Chair, Critical Care Operations, UMass Memorial Medical Center 
Peter Pronovost, MD, PhD, FCCM, Sr. Vice President for Patient Safety and Quality, Director of the Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality, Johns Hopkins Medicine

Pediatric Care Expert Panel

Rita Mangione-Smith, MD, MPH, Professor and Chief of Pediatric Internal Medicine at the University of Washington; research focus on quality improvement

Sara Toomey, MD, MPH, MSc, MPhil, Managing Director of the Center of Excellence for Pediatric Quality Measurement at Boston Children's Hospital, Chief Experience Officer at Boston Children's Hospital, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School

Denise Dougherty, PhD, former Senior Advisor for Child Health and Quality Improvement at the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Karen Wilson, MD, MPH, Debra and Leon Black Division Chief of General Pediatrics, and the Vice-Chair for Clinical and Translational Research for the Department of Pediatrics at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Inpatient Surgery Expert Panel

Justin Dimik, MD, MPH, Professor of Surgery and Health Management and Policy; George D. Zuidema Chair in Health Services Research; Chief, Division of Minimally Invasive Surgery; Director, Center for Healthcare Outcomes and Policy; Department of Surgery; University of Michigan Health System
David S. Jevsevar, MD, MBA, Chair, Department of Orthopaedics; Associate Professor; The Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth; Regional Vice-President of Orthopaedics; Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
Timothy M. Pawlik, MD, MPH, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Surgery; The Urban Meyer III and Shelley Meyer Chair for Cancer Research; The Ohio State University, Wexner Medical Center
Richard Shemin, MD, Robert and Kelly Day Professor; David Geffen UCLA School of Medicine; Chief of Cardiac Surgery; Executive Vice-Chairman of Surgery; Co-Director of the Cardiovascular Center; Director of Cardiovascular Quality; Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center
Michael Belkin, MD, Chief, Division of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery; Brigham and Women's Hospital; Professor of Surgery; Harvard Medical School

Christine Lau, MD, House Staff Surgeon, Department of Surgery, Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar, Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation, University of Michigan

Andrew Ibrahim, MD, MSc, House Staff Surgeon, Department of Surgery; Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar, Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation; University of Michigan

Conor Delaney, MD, MCh, PhD, FACS, FRCSI, FASCRS, Chairman, Digestive Disease and Surgery Institute, Victor W. Fazio MD Endowed Chair in Colorectal Surgery, Professor of Surgery, Cleveland Clinic Lerner School of Medicine

Dana A. Telem, MD, MPH, FACS, FASMBS, Director, Comprehensive Hernia Program, Associate Professor of Surgery, University of Michigan


Please visit the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade website to learn about the members of our Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade Blue Ribbon Expert Panel. 


Visit Newsletter