Advisory Committees

Leapfrog’s Advisory Committees advise the Board and management on issues related to safety, quality and efficiency in hospitals and ambulatory surgery centers (ASCs). The committees share best practices for quality improvement and strategies to grow participation Leapfrog’s annual Surveys and transparency efforts. Additionally, committee members provide insight on long-term goals and strategic policy issues related to hospitals and ASCs.


Our Advisory Committees do not advise on content, scoring, or public reporting of the Leapfrog Surveys.


Leapfrog Advisory Committees

ASC Advisory Committee

Andrew Weiss, CASC, Virtua Health System 

Arnaldo Valedon, MD, FASA, SAMBA-F, MBA, WellSpan Health/WellSpan Health & Surgery Center

Beth Russell, MSN, RN, Knoxville Orthopaedic Surgery Center

Henrietta Smith, RN, MSN, CIC, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Jacob Lujano, Reno Orthopaedic Surgery Center

Kimberley Murray, RN, MS, CNOR, Syracuse Orthopedic Specialists

Korie Enscoe, MSN, RN, Allegheny Health Network - Wexford Surgery Center

Kristine Kilgore, RN, BSN, Surgical Care Center of Michigan (AKA Grand Rapids Ophthalmology Surgical Care Center)

Leslie Barrett, CRNA, MBA, Novant Health

Linda Schwimmer, JD, New Jersey Healthcare Quality Institute, (Chair)

Lori Sylvester, MSN, RN, CASC, Riverside Outpatient Surgery Center

Mandy Gerlach, Baptist Health Surgery & Endoscopy Centers

Nicole Vit, RN, BSN, MPH, Constitution Surgery Alliance

Sandy Swiatek, RN, DNP, MSN, Southwest Connecticut Surgery Center

Hospital Advisory Committee

Missy Arwood, DNP-EL, MSN, APRN, CNS-BC, NE-BC, CJCP, CPHQ, HACP, Community Health Systems Professional Services Corporation

Mark W. Browne, MD, MMM, FACPE, CPE, Covenant Health

Robert A. Cherry, MD, MS, FACS, FACHE, UCLA Health

Barbara Crawford, MS, RN, NEA-BC, Kaiser Permanente

Betty Chu, MD MBA FACOG, Advocate Health

Pablo Moreno Franco, MD, Mayo Clinic

Gary S. Kaplan, MD, FACP, FACMPE, FACPE, Virginia Mason Franciscan Health

Raed M. Khoury, MA, MPH, FACHE, Valley Children’s Hospital

Amy Mansue, MSW, Inspira Health

David Mayer, MD, MedStar Health

Richard W. Nesto, MD, FACC, FAHA, FRCP (Edin.), Beth Israel Lahey Health

Thomas Owens, MD, Duke University Health System

Karen Pasquin , MSN, RN, Intermountain Health

Ilan S. Rubinfeld, MD, MBA, FACS, FCCP, FCM, Henry Ford Hospital

William R. Scharf, MD, AdventHealth Clinical

Darrell K. Terry, Sr., MHA, MPH, FACHE, Newark Beth Israel Medical Center

Stephen Weber, MD, ScM, UChicago Medicine Health System

Susan Zabor, MBA, MSN, BSN, RNC, CSSBB, Schneck Medical Center

Isis Zambrana, RN, BSN, MBA, CPHQ, Jackson Health System

Visit Newsletter