National Expert Panel

To guide its new program and designation, Leapfrog is working with experts at Johns Hopkins Medicine, led by Andrew Paul Demidowich, MD, and the American Diabetes Association, as well as a national expert panel chaired by Dr. Guillermo Umpierrez. The panel continues to play a crucial role in identifying best practices and guidelines for hospitals caring for people with diabetes and translating these into measures and standards for the Recognized Leader in Caring for People Living with Diabetes Application.


The national panel includes experts in endocrinology, vascular care, intensive care, pharmacy, as well as patients:

  • Jennifer Clements, PharmD, FCCP, FADCES, BCPS, CDCES, BCACP, BC-ADM, University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy at the School of Medicine
  • Roma Gianchandani, MD, Cedars-Sinai
  • Mary Korytkowski, MD, University of Pittsburgh
  • James S. Krinsley, MD, Stamford Hospital
  • Chris Memering, MSN, RN, CDCES, BC-ADM, FADCES, CarolinaEast Health System
  • Tara Rose Murphy, MPAP
  • Richard Neville, MD, Inova Health System
  • Daniel Rubin, MD, MSc, FACE​, Temple University Hospital

  • Leon Thornton, Jr., MA

  • Guillermo Umpierrez, MD, Emory University School of Medicine


Visit Newsletter